The Beautiful and the Cursed ARC Review

The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan

Fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.

It was bizarre and inexplicable, and after it happened, Ingrid Waverly was forced to leave her life in London behind. She had to trade a world full of fancy dresses and society events for exile in gothic Paris with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and disturbingly, the house rented by Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, isn’t a house at all. It’s an abbey. A creepy, old abbey with a roof lined in stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.

And to top it all off, Grayson is missing.

Yet no one seems to be concerned about Grayson’s whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant who has some deep and dark secrets of his own.

There’s one secret about the city that even Luc can’t keep hidden, though: there’s a murderer on the loose. And every day that Grayson is missing means there’s less chance he’s still alive.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows that he’s in grave danger, and that it’s up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost.

And yet the path to him is more dangerous than she could ever imagine.16071975-1

ARC Review

What a refreshing read! This one of the first YA novels I have read in a while that the main plot point wasn’t a romance element. Sure, there is a love story but it is not the main focus of the story.

I loved the historical aspect of this paranormal story. From the first chapter the story completely engrossed me. The characters were rich, the setting was fantastic and the storyline quickly developed.

The female characters were admirable; they were not the damsels in distress that many attribute females to being. Quite the contrary, they were strong and didn’t want to be reliant on anyone else. Great role models, and great muses.

I entered this book knowing nothing of gargoyles. They had always just been a background, a simple stone and that was all. This story had the gargoyles dispossessed as a slave to angels to protect humans.

It was a very neat story. Original, rich and well written.

I cannot wait for the next entry in this series!

About Lisa Lunney

A Canadian gal that firmly believes words can change the world. An avid reader, writer and Autumn/Winter lover. She excels at communications and writes for pleasure and profession.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Author Interviews & More! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beautiful and the Cursed ARC Review

  1. Megan says:

    This one sounds pretty cool. I like the idea of gargoyles finally getting attention. And a competent heroine!

Thanks for the read.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s