Book Review: The Ward By Jordana Frankel

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

12399857-1

Published: 2012

1600108_10152164384975908_207743490_n

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

1600167_10152164384800908_58508561_n

Thank goodness this is going to be a series!

This was such a unique and fantastic book. As I turned the last page it felt like I was saying goodbye to friends. The characters were developed in a fantastic way. Each character was flawed, and that was what made each so intriguing and unique. Each filled with layers upon layers of personality, and truths to be revealed.

This is not the typical dystopian read. There are shocking twists, and a touch of paranormal. Definitely a refreshing spin on the dystopian worlds readers have been introduced to in past years.

Unlike most YA reads, the main storyline was not a romance. It was still centered around love; but love for family.

Every detail was mapped out vividly. It is clear Frankel was passionate about both her characters, world and story development. Everything had a perfect flow without a minute of dullness. The book was a rush of adrenaline, with the composition to push the reader to stay up all night to finish.

There is not a thing I would change about this storyline, it is fantastic.

I cannot wait for the next entry!

Thank you Harper Collins Canada for providing a review copy.

About Professional Writer

Lover of words, cats and stars.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Author Interviews & More! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

XOXO

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s